Day In The Life

I LOVE day in the life posts. They are my very favorite to read on my favorite blogs, so I guess you could say I’m kind of nosey. It’s also the reason I like survey posts because they ask random questions and you get to find out random tidbits about someone. I always forget to take pictures of my own day, but I want to remember the days of my first year of teaching…so here is a random Wednesday in the life of me!

April 20, 2016

It’s 6:50 AM and I’m up for the day. I usually hit Snooze, so I was proud of myself. 😉

IMG_6356

As soon as I stepped into the bathroom to put my contacts in, my roommate came flying back into the apartment because her car wouldn’t start…so off I went to the garage to get my car and my jumper cables.

IMG_6359

Her car has been having issues and the battery was actually dying while we were trying to jump it (the headlights kept dimming until they were totally off), so she called AAA and I came back upstairs to put my makeup on and get ready.

IMG_6360

Wednesdays at my school are “Workout Wednesday”. Our principal’s philosophy is if we are already in our workout clothes, we will be more likely to go to the gym after the school day ends. The guidance counselor gets the kids involved by doing some kind of workout with them on the morning announcements each week and I enjoy wearing yoga pants. 😉

It’s actually very hard to get dressed on this day because I don’t want to look like a hot mess! The sweatshirt and running shoes weren’t doing it for me, so I changed into a wrap and flats and suddenly got 5 compliments from coworkers who liked my outfit and wanted to know why I wasn’t in workout clothes. Hahaha

I throw my lunch together while I make coffee and then I’m out the door. I used to leave by 7:30 AM, now I’m usually walking into the kitchen at that time. #oops

Listen to my current jams (Let It Be Known and On My Way) and love my life as I notice the other side of the highway. 😉 I have a reverse commute so I am leaving DC when everyone else is driving in for work. I never sit in traffic (at least on the way to work) unless it’s Friday afternoon.

I do sit in traffic when I pass the Catholic school down the street from my school because it’s their drop off time, but I’m always in my classroom between 8 and 8:15 AM.

IMG_6387

Turn on my laptop, check emails, and then make sure everything is copied for the day.

IMG_6393

My coworker gave me the idea to do my Morning Message and attendance check-in on the Smart Board. My students have to come in, move their character, put their belongings away, read the message, and do the morning work assigned at the bottom. It keeps them busy in the ten minutes that exist between arrival and the bell signaling the beginning of the day. And my classroom is not always that dark…I just leave the lights off for as long as possible in the morning. It keeps me calm. Hahaha

IMG_6396

The bell rings at 9:10 and we get started. We have Morning Meeting on the carpet, then I teach a whole group reading lesson, and then I teach small groups in reading while the rest of the students go to different stations around the room. On this particular Wednesday, we had Morning Meeting and then we headed off to the cafeteria to see the 4th graders Wax Museum. They were all dressed as a different famous American and on each of their posters, there was a circle that said “Press Here”. Only then did that 4th grader turn around and start talking to you. The rest of the time, they were a statue! It was so cool.

FullSizeRender_1

When we came back, I had rearranged our schedule a bit and the students had some silent reading time. I also graded a few personal narratives. Then I combined my reading and writing lesson and we worked on writing poems! Some of them love it, some of them hate it. But that’s usually how it goes with poetry!

The definition of #teacherproblems. Outside for recess duty and my morning cup of coffee is still half full! I teach math for an hour when we go back inside. While we begin class together doing a “Number Talk”, the rest of the time the students are at stations and I teach small groups the same lesson in a few different ways. They learn so much better this way because they are more focused and I can tell if they actually get the concept.

IMG_6402

Then we eat lunch, and on this day, I ate in my classroom with a student. Our school gives “Cardinal Cash” for good behavior and in my classroom, you must earn 10 pieces before you choose a reward. Most of them ask to bring in an electronic device or a toy of some sort, but this girl wanted to eat with me. 🙂 Because we eat lunch so late, this is my first true “break” of the day, so I only offer the option to eat lunch with me once a week/when I’m in a good mood. Hahaha

When I pick them up from lunch, we come back to the classroom for a short block of time. Some students go to another classroom for support or enrichment in certain subjects, while the other students in the classroom are reading, writing, or playing a math game. I teach a small group of students from another second grade class and right now we are doing double digit addition and subtraction with regrouping.

Next, I have an hour of planning time. My students head off to specials (think library, gym, etc.) and I listen to music, grade and organize papers, and basically get a whole bunch of things done! Once a week, I plan with my team during this hour, and once a month, we meet to discuss other relevant topics, but most days this hour is mine to plan as I please. On this day, I was eating Hershey’s kisses and listening to music on YouTube –>  Work From Home = weird but catchy.

I usually run around and talk to my coworkers during this time (because hello, adult conversation) and then I get ready for my students’ return. They have 10 minutes of quiet time as part of our school’s Responsive Classroom approach and then we start our science and social studies block. Right now, we are learning about the migration of Monarch butterflies, so on this day we talked about where monarchs are in their migration (approaching Texas, if you’re curious;), watched a BrainPOP Jr. video about animal classification and then they did a cut/paste/sort activity in their science journals.

IMG_6410

My students have community supplies, which means no one keeps any school supplies in their desks except for folders, notebooks, and a box of crayons. Instead, there are several caddies on the top of each table (because there are 8 kids at a table). Inside, there are the appropriate number of pencils, erasers, scissors, and glue. Except there are NOT. EVER. ENOUGH. SUPPLIES. I swear every time we cut and glue, someone is complaining that they don’t have scissors and I am constantly opening new packs of glue sticks. On this Wednesday, I was OVER IT. I made sure all 23 students had scissors and glue and then when science was over, I made two classroom helpers go around and collect every pair of scissors and every stick of glue. They were so offended that I was taking the supplies, but HONESTLY WHERE DO THEY GO?! I’m getting angry talking about this again a week later lol. Hopefully this new system works. 😉

At 3:45, dismissal begins. A student brought me a cupcake during this time because it was their birthday. I licked the icing off and threw the rest of the cupcake away because I’m five years old. Then one of my coworkers had to go and ALSO have a birthday so I had a gluten free, dairy free brownie that was actually so good! Wegmans for the win.

IMG_6418

I’m usually starving when school is over (because I usually don’t have dessert during dismissal hahaha) so I drink my Shakeology when I get in the car at 4:15. Usually I am on my way to somewhere…I had two night classes this semester, and if I’m not doing that, I’m usually going to the gym…so this is a good time to drink my shake because it holds me over until dinner, which usually doesn’t happen until 7:30 or 8. #oops

On this day, I actually got to come home after work, and I arrived to a package from my mom! Some snacks, some teacher supplies, some books…just a few goodies. 🙂

IMG_6431

I was meeting Kristen to run at 6:00, so I decided to be a productive human and fold the pile of laundry next to my bed…conveniently placed on the side that I don’t sleep on so I didn’t have to see it. Ha!

The high school near us was having a track meet, so we went to a nearby trail that we knew had quite a decent flat, straight stretch to do sprints. We ran one mile to the trail and did 8 400m sprints with a 200m jog in between. This workout was actually SO hard. It was taking me about 1 minute, 50 seconds to 2 minutes to run the 400m and I could get like 1:10 into it before I hit a wall. Every. Single. Time. I wanted to do the workout, but my lungs hated me…so I worked on my mental and physical game big time with this run!

Kristen made me lay down on the trail after we were done, and we caught some other gems on her camera while we were walking around being silly. 🙂 We laughed at the thought of running one mile back home, so we walked. #imtrainingfornothing #idowhatiwant

Dinner and comfy clothes. Although I guess I can’t complain since I wore comfy clothes to school, but you can’t exactly rock a towel on your head and Ugg slippers in public…

FAVORITE TIME OF NIGHT. Bed and book reading or blog reading. Here, chai tea and signing up for Le Tote. I like to shop, so I don’t know if I’ll actually keep ordering from this service, but my friend Audrey sent me a free month, so I had to try it!

IMG_6477

Trying to cut out the night time snack, but #hangry. Don’t knock it ’til you try it, friends. My coworker got me hooked!

Then I’m out between 10:30 and 11.

A day in the life of me. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Day In The Life

  1. I find these posts really interesting too. I love your wrap top that you wore to school! I love that my office has no dress code so leggings are a pretty common attire for me haha but I do try not to look like a hot mess when I go into the office.

  2. So many things…these will probably be out of order.

    1. I love that you were eating Kisses and then you get home to a package with more Kisses inside!
    2. Umm that outfit is SO CUTE and way more put together than I am like 90% of the time hahaha. I never would’ve known those were workout leggings!
    3. I throw all Michael’s clothes on the floor on his side of the bed (I also ask him constantly to put away his clothes, but in the meantime, they’re on his side so I don’t have to see them!) hahaha.
    4. Yay for reverse commutes and it was super interesting seeing the day in the life of an elementary school teacher.
    5. I need to do one of these but never remember to take pictures. Also there isn’t much to take pictures of when your job means you’re chained to a desk. Blah.

    Okay I’ll stop now hahaha!

  3. Tell me more about that gluten free dairy free brownie hahaha i’m glad you liked it though!! So strange you lick the icing…that was my least favorite part. I wanted the cake only, we could have been great friends when we were young. You have such a full day. #adultingishard

  4. I’m super nosy, so I love these types of posts. Haha

    I really don’t know if I could be a teacher. Not that I usually have tons of free time at work, but I can go to the bathroom & make more coffee whenever I please. Eat lunch whenever or use my break to run errands. And, I took that for granted until I read that you couldn’t do that. I think I would lose it.

    & yay for reverse commuting! I do that too-ish I guess.The parkway is still busy for like the last mile before my exit, but it’s nothing like working in the city & driving through a tunnel.

  5. You wake up at 6:50 and I’m leaving for work at 6:50. #jealous. Also I love that cardigan in your outfit! And I can’t wait to try shakeology when I get home from vacation!

  6. I love day in the life posts too!! (So I guess we can be nosy together?? Haha). I love how adding flats to an outfit suddenly makes it classy–you look super cute!! And you sound like such an amazing teacher…stations and everything?! You go girl. (I used to teach high school…good for you for doing elementary!)

  7. Pingback: Day In The Life | kylie mcgraw

Leave a Reply

