What’s Up?! [May]

Hi, friends! How are you on this fine Wednesday? I haven’t forgotten about this little corner of the Internet, and I hope to start a more consistent posting schedule come June. Stay tuned! In the meantime…

whatsupwed1

Let’s link up with Mel, Andrea, and Sheaffer to talk about what’s up!

What I’m eating this week:

I suppose I should be embarrassed at my lack of cooking skills, but it’s way too easy to microwave a bag of vegetables and bake two black bean burgers for dinner. Going strong on day 3 over here. Ha! Switching up the vegetables at least keeps me guessing?!

What I’m reminiscing about:

IMG_8034

Last year at this time I was prepping for my first teaching interview! Oh how much life changes in a year. 🙂

What I’m loving:

In no particular order, Season 1 of Fixer Upper on Netflix, Toasted Marshmallow ice cream, 22 Minute Hard Corps workouts, and 80 degree days. Praise Jesus for sunshine and warm weather so my students can run!!!

What I’m dreading:

What I’m working on:

What I’m excited about:

Finishing my first year of teaching! It is a roller coaster of every emotion possible and I’m excited to have this experience under my belt and move forward somewhat more established!

Also, grad school is almost over. I have to teach summer school during the month of July and then I will have my Master’s! I can’t believe it and at the same time, I am so ready to be done. Now everyone wants to know when I’ll go back for my doctorate. I can’t talk about that yet. Hahaha

What I’m watching/reading:

I finished Looking for Lovely by Annie Downs and I loved it! I didn’t love it as much as I loved her other book “Let’s All Be Brave”, but I love her writing because it sounds like she is talking to me. She’s very relatable if you are looking for a Christian read from the point of view of a talkative, honest, 30-something!

I’m also the annoying person who reads multiple things at one time so I’m also in the middle of “Killing Lincoln” (Bill O’Reilly) and “The One and Only” (Emily Giffin). I just started “All The Light We Cannot See” because the WW2 time period fascinates me and even though it’s a long book, the chapters are about 4-5 pages each so you can easily pick it up, add something to the story in your brain, and then set it down and do something else!

What I’m listening to:

I like these songs on their own, but the Spin teacher in me loves their remixes too. 🙂

Colors (Audien Remix) – Halsey
Renegades (Stash Konig Remix) – X Ambassadors
Spectrum (Say My Name) – Florence + the Machine & Calvin Harris

Adele’s recent album has also made a comeback in the CD player in my car and I’ve been listening to Jason Aldean because his music makes me so excited for summer!

What I’m wearing:

The bloggiest of all blog worthy outfits. 😉 I ordered Le Tote for the first time because my friend sent me a free month and I loved wearing this patterned shirt with things I already owned, like my white pants and wedges! I liked the clothes that I recieved and Le Tote’s customer service was great but I like shopping too much to commit to an every month order from them. If you are interested in a free month, though, let me know because I have a few more emails I can send! (<– not sponsored, just something everyone gets upon signing up).

Nordstrom Rack hit it OUT of the park this past weekend with sales. Their prices are discounted from regular Nordstrom prices to begin with, but then when things are on sale…I took 32 items to the dressing room. Just saying. I wasn’t trying to be all name-brandy, but that’s just kind of how it ended up. Some of my tops are random brands. Anyways, I was most excited about a Barefoot Dreams robe for $19 (retail $99), True Religion jeggings for $60 (retail $158), and this in-your-face bright fuzzy North Face for $29! Best Saturday night ever. And I recommend you go to your local Nordstrom Rack ASAP!

What I’m doing this weekend:

I might go and stay.

What I’m looking forward to next month:

Fewer rainy days! A girl can dream. And I don’t have anything huge on the calendar yet…I’m not going on vacation until August, so hopefully I’ll just do lots of fun outdoor things here in DC!

What else is new:

I auditioned to teach Spin at one of my favorite studios around here and it was WAY different than any interview I’ve ever gone through for Spin before. Needless to say, I did not get the job but I’m going to pursue other gyms in the meantime and try at that studio again the fall. 🙂

5 miles was my go-to, favorite distance in college. I ran 6 miles yesterday and it was hard, friends. I just want running to be easy again, but that’s not going to come with all of my complaining and none of the work. I want 5-6 miles to feel good by the end of summer and then I’ll start training for the Army 10-miler! I signed up with my friends this morning. I think my up and down running over the past year is the reason for all my random injuries and complaints about how hard it is, so here I am putting ClassPass on hold and getting back on the trails. Yay for summer and running 🙂

What’s new with you?

3 thoughts on “What’s Up?! [May]

  1. Toasted marshmallow ice cream?!?! I’ve thought about teaching spinning but the interview part would intimidate me I think haha

  2. I hope the weather has shaped up for you, Kylie! We had some rainy days in Pittsburgh recently, and it felt never ending! I can’t believe your first year of teaching is almost over! Crazy! Hope the end of the school year is great for you!

  3. EEE! I checked in to see if you had any updates and saw that TODAY is your last day with students!! Congrats on finishing your first year! I hope you enjoy your last day and your much deserved break!!

Leave a Reply

