Mashed Cauliflower Sweet Potatoes

Today is FLYING by! I can’t wait to get back into my regular schedule where my posts magically appear at 7 AM. 🙂 This is being typed in real time as I stand at my kitchen counter and watch my bed get assembled by the furniture company. I also went to work today with no makeup on because I can’t find my makeup bag. And they say moving is fun. 😉

I like to talk about what I’m eating on Wednesdays and I like to share a new recipe because 1) I love reading new recipes and 2) It forces me to get creative in the kitchen. If you’ve read this blog for more than five minutes, you know I am the self-proclaimed “five ingredients or less” queen of the kitchen. I am also the self-proclaimed “quick and easy” queen of the kitchen. This is partly because I don’t have the pantry of a professional chef and partly because I usually wait until I am hungry to start cooking. And nobody wants to cook when they are STARVING.

So today, I am sharing mashed cauliflower sweet potatoes with you. I am the kind of person who is fine eating chicken, vegetables, and a sweet potato for dinner. It might sound plain to you, but I love all of those things and cook them up pretty quickly. So in an effort to branch out of my comfort zone, while still eating my favorite foods of sweet potatoes and vegetables, Pinterest helped me find this recipe (follow me here). Isn’t it pretty?!

5dedc44daaa983e1021bbebd79df1662

via

Just kidding. Mine looked like this. But it was just as tasty. 🙂

IMG_9935

Find the original recipe here.

Ingredients

1 medium sized sweet potato
1/2 cup chopped cauliflower
1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
Splash of milk
Garlic powder (to taste)
Salt and pepper (to taste)

IMG_9926

Directions

– Chop your sweet potato (and cauliflower, if needed) into bite sized pieces.
– Boil sweet potato and cauliflower in one inch of water on medium heat for 10-12 minutes or until tender with a fork.

IMG_9929
– Drain your vegetables and move them to a medium sized bowl.

IMG_9930

– Mash the vegetables. Add Greek yogurt, milk, and spices.

IMG_9932

– Serve with your main dish of choice! I chose chicken because I am predictable. 😉

IMG_9935

I made MANY modifications to this recipe. First, I was cooking for one, so I changed the measurements a great deal. Again, to see the original recipe, click here. I also used garlic salt in place of garlic powder and salt…mostly because I didn’t have garlic powder in my pantry. The nutrition facts on this dish were great! I entered the ingredients into MyFitnessPal and found that it was 119 calories, 0.3 g of fat, 24 g of carbs, and 4.2 g of protein for the entire serving! It was delicious and I will definitely be making this side dish again.

Time for honesty hour: I was so excited to find chopped cauliflower at the grocery store because that means less work for me in the kitchen! But then while I was trying to open the bag, this happened.

 IMG_9927

Picture yourself cooking with a five-year-old who has no attention span and creates a mess. That’s me. Hahaha! I try to clean as I go, but then things like this happen. I was honestly picking the tiny pieces out of the burners on my stove BY HAND! So share with me: are you a master chef or are you a little bit disastrous like me? I would love to know! 🙂

Happy cooking!

Previous cauliflower recipes:
Vanilla Pound Cake

6 thoughts on “Mashed Cauliflower Sweet Potatoes

  1. YUM! I love sweet potatoes and I love mashed cauliflower! I’m like you, I can eat chicken, veggies, and a sweet potato or other super simple meals like that and be fine. If I want fancy food, Michael has to cook or we go out. I’m all simple all the time. 🙂

Leave a comment