Mail & Mascara & Music, Oh My

Goooood morning! I love a Friday when it comes at the end of a busy week and it’s followed by a weekend with lots of plans 🙂 Life lately has me feeling like this…

1907512_10152980061336935_2301169334201285133_n

…when really I should be thinking this:

2b989cf381387230b4f072e79b528cba

And yes, I listen to Nicki Minaj and you should, too. She’s ridiculous but she’s peppy and fun, and who doesn’t need a little bit of that in their life?! Let’s get to it…these are a few of my favorite things. <– You know you just started singing. 😉 

Favorite Internet Find

Speaking of singing, I spent a good hour searching for a random song I heard on the radio and a TV commercial the other day. After exhausting all the top hits lists in iTunes and Spotify, I finally figured out what the song was and now I can’t stop listening.

Also, I realized last night while I was watching Big Brother that this song is the background music in the commercial for the new Jeep Renegade and this song is called Renegade…if only I had connected those dots before my thorough search!

Also, if you watched the cartoon or read the Arthur books as a child, you have to read this Buzzfeed article about D.W. Every time I read it, I laugh. Especially when I read #8 and #10. I can hear her talking in my head. That’s how you know you’re a true Arthur fan haha! She is so sassy!

Favorite Meal

IMG_9140

This was my dinner on Wednesday night. Well, half the cookie sandwich and all of the ice cream. Baked and Wired, you have my heart.

IMG_9142

I tried a crepe (which I call a “creep”) for the first time at Snap DC and it was so yummy! When I was on vacation last year in Riviera Maya, I had a crepe for dessert with almost every breakfast. Ha! But usually I just got Nutella, peanut butter, banana, and the crepe and ate it piece by piece without ever really putting it together. The crepe pictured above is called the “Famous” and it had turkey, spinach, tomato, and asiago cheese. I do not like tomatoes…but it felt like part of the deal with that particular crepe and the cook said I would ruin the flavor if I skipped the tomato, so I listened and ordered it as is. I ate the tomato, but I liked the other parts of the crepe much more!

IMG_9104

The Kylie version of spaghetti with meatballs: zucchini noodles with tomato basil sauce and turkey meatballs. I have the Veggetti spiralizer which my mom purchased for me here and it is so easy to use! After I slice my zucchini noodles, I microwave them for 2 minutes, drain the excess water, and I’m good to go! There are other fancier ways of cooking your “zoodles” but I’m a simple chef.

Favorite Outfit

IMG_9101

My brand new J. Crew shorts that cost a beautiful $19 made an appearance on Wednesday when I went to the mall. They fit in a way that makes me feel like I need to wear a cropped or shorter top with them, but now looking at this picture I think that tank top makes me look boxy. Ha! It is actually a cute tank because the back has detail, but it might not be my first choice next time I throw these on. 😉

IMG_9119

I used to wear these shorts all.the.time. I like to take my clothes to Plato’s Closet before I donate them and once while I was browsing and waiting for my basket, I found these shorts from New York & Company for $8.

IMG_9120

The detail on them makes them my favorite! #shinebrightlikeadiamond

Favorite Piece of Mail

IMG_9171

I have never been so excited to receive a package in the mail! I was lounging in my room with a towel on my head post-shower and I actually went downstairs with wet hair to get this from the office. Ha! I was not a huge fan of jumping on the Erin Condren bandwagon (because let’s be honest, it is a bandwagon), BUT I have had to replace all of my planners in the last 3 years before that particular year has ended because the spiral never lasts. It comes uncoiled and pages fall out and it. drives. me. crazy. EC Life Planners are definitely not cheap, so I am hoping that works in my favor here. Plus now that I have a new job I have all sorts of fun new events to write down. 🙂

IMG_9164

And how amazing is this shirt that I ordered from Hungry Runner Girl?! Perfect for marathon training:)

Favorite Purchase

IMG_9117

Thanks to Randi’s suggestions, I bought this new mascara when I actually needed it instead of procrastinating and using my old one until the last second. I’m pretty sure there wasn’t much left in there, anyway!

IMG_9107

I am the biggest advocate for new running shoes. You need the ones that fit your feet the best and you should never start a new training cycle in old, burned out shoes! I took my own advice and finally bought a new pair the other night. I feel like I am running on a cloud now! After trying on at least ten different pairs, I ended up with the Asics Gel Kayano 21…which is the exact same shoe I had before, but the newest version. Sigh. At least I got a new color. 🙂 Running shoes are the ONLY shoes that I will ever justify spending a ridiculous amount of money on. But it doesn’t hurt that they were slightly on sale and I had a coupon! I still cried when the cashier told me the total.

And now I will leave you with this perfect picture of my brother’s dog…

  IMG_9074

…such a handsome pup. 🙂 Our golden retriever, Colby, won’t sit still for more than 10 seconds or I’m sure my mom would share a picture of him looking perfect, too!

Happy Friday, friends! I’m kicking the weekend off at the pool. I hope your days are filled with sunshine and relaxation!

***
Bloggers: link up with us here, here, and here!

 fridayfavorites db7528c5-a5c8-4eb0-9519-22997b018248_zps7d56832d Friday Favorites

18 thoughts on “Mail & Mascara & Music, Oh My

  1. Sometimes I go back and forth if my spirit animal is Beyonce or Nicki… and it’s really a tough decision. Haha. Hope you have a fabulous weekend 🙂

  2. OKAY. That zoodles and meatballs needs to be in my lunchbox right. now. I’m dying to have it!!! SO YUM! You’ve been eating the best food. Love that good ol’ Erin Condren and you looked fantastic going to get it I might add 😉

  3. Love both of your pairs of shorts! I love cookies and I love ice cream, so cookie ice cream sandwiches are heaven to me. I also love that you ended with a picture of your brother’s dog. So cute!

  4. Crepes are my favourite….I have a great recipe for a French Canadian sauce to put on them if you ever feel like making them. Also- getting an Erin Condren planner is on my list of things to do this weekend and I may have picked out the same cover as you!

  5. Okay so much to say about this post… here it goes.
    1. That Buzzfeed article made me LOL. Literally. That show was my childhood.
    2. Crepes are my spirit food. You know, like spirit animal, but food version? Nutella (sweet crepes are my favorite) but savory ones are awesome too! There’s a cute shop in Shady Side that makes amazing ones!
    3. I don’t think that shirt makes you look boxy at all…I thought it was adorable! BUT if you feel that way, try wearing a form fitting shirt and tucking it in. This will look cute since the shorts are looser!
    4. I’m glad you got the mascara! Have you tried it yet?!

    Happy weekend!

  6. That song is so good! I also just got new running shoes and this was the first time I had my feet/running style analyzed instead of just picking ones I liked…it makes such a difference!

Leave a Reply

